Back on Sunday 12th May the revamped Point-S South West Masters Motocross Championships made its way down to Newquay Moto Parc for round 2 in the 5 round series. This was a new venue to the series and also a new track for many riders having not rode here before. The weather had been kind prior to the meeting and on the day and the organisers were forced to water the track before practice got underway and during the first block of racing. Unfortunately the entry for this round was abit lower than normal with several riders out on other duties and also several riders out with injuries, but nevertheless there was still some good racing to be seen by the many spectators in attendance.

In the 24MX Expert Championship things were about to change in the standings as current Championship leader after the opening round Todd Kellett was a non-starter due to other commitments abroad so at the end of the day there would be a new leader in the Championship. Luke Hawkins (Pictured No 8) was sitting 2nd in the Championship going in to round 2 and had set the fastest time in qualifying and showed that he meant business with a cracking start in the opening race on the 450f Cheddar Mx Honda from the 450f Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki of Jamie Skuse and Ross Kersey on the 250f St Blazey Honda. Hawkins was absolutely flying on the opening lap and was to get even quicker on lap 2 as he put in a blistering lap some two seconds quicker than anyone else and was to pull away even more as the race progressed and was to go on untroubled to take the win by some 15 seconds ahead of Skuse with Kersey just holding on in the closing stages taking third ahead of Rob Cross on the 450f Kawasaki. In the second moto again it was Hawkins with a flyer from the 250 2-Stroke KTM of Aiden Williams with Skuse there in 3rd, but not for long as Skuse was soon to find away pass Williams and was to try and keep Hawkins in his sights, but as with the opening race Hawkins with a clear track in front of him was smooth and cruised home to take the win again ahead of Skuse with Williams a distant 3rd. In the last expert race Skuse got the best jump out of the gate and had the holeshot ahead of Hawkins who was breathing all over Skuse as they entered the second corner looking for away pass which he did two corners later getting the better traction exiting a right-hander, Kersey was in 3rd with Cross all over him for several laps, piling the pressure on until lap 5 when Kersey made a mistake on a canvered left hander and went down which let Cross up in to 3rd, but he wasn’t going to catch the leading two with Hawkins making it a hat trick of wins on the day ahead of Skuse who made it a hat trick of 2nd’s with Cross taking 3rd. This has now put Hawkins leading the Championship by 43 points from Cross who moved up in to 2nd in the standings with Skuse now in 3rd just 15 points adrift as they go in to round 3 at Little Silver on June 23rd.

In the Wulfsport Over 35 Championship class it had attracted many riders as with the opening round and was to produce some excellent racing. Currently sitting 2nd in the standings after the opening round was Darren Banwell (Pictured No 11) on the 450f Cheddar Mx Honda who had set the fastest time in qualifying ahead of current Championship leader Wayne Shimell on the 250f TyreMarks Honda, but it was Shimell who was to shine in the first two races holeshotting both of them and took runaway wins in both of them, but in the last race it was Banwell who dug in deep and had the holeshot from Peter Bulley on the 350f KTM with Shimell tucked in 3rd, but not for long as he passed Bulley on the opening lap as did the 250 2-Stroke Tony Maunders Racing KTM of James Kensington who moved up in to 3rd. Banwell was soon caught by Shimell at the front, but it wasn’t until lap 3 that Shimell hit the front passing Banwell on a downhill section and from there was to go on to take the chequered flag to make it a hat trick of wins on the day with Banwell completing a hat trick of 2nd’s on the day and Kensington taking 3rd.

In the Wulfsport Over 45 Championship it was wildcard Wayne Butt on his 14 year old CR125 Honda with the fastest qualifying time, but it was fellow wildcard Richard Green on the 450f Yamaha with the best start in the opening race, but this was short lived as he was passed by both Butt and Championship leader Leigh Williams on the 450f J D racing KTM within a couple of laps with Williams going on to take the win from Butt with Green taking 3rd. Race 2 saw Williams lead from the start and took a comfortable win over Green this time with David Ford on the 250f Projuice KTM taking an excellent 3rd and Williams was to extend his Championship lead to 24 points after making it a hat trick of wins in the last race a head of Butt and Green.

In the JCT Developments Junior Championship there was some close racing in all three races. Stefan Little had first pick of the gate notching up the fastest lap in qualifying, but that didn’t seem to give him an advantage as it was Championship leader Daniel Wade (Pictured No 41) on the 250f Yamaha who dominated the opening race from Jamie Harris on the 250 KTM with the 250f Honda of Kieran Yorke taking 3rd. In the second race things got a bit tight going into the first corner between Wade and Scott Ardren on the big 450f Kawasaki as he nearly went down but somehow kept it upright, but he had to give way to Wade exiting the first bend which gave Wade a clear track in front of him and he went on untroubled and took his second win of the day ahead of Yorke who got the better of Jamie Harris on the 250 2-Stroke KTM in the closing stages as did Ardren who came home to take 3rd. In the last race this time Wade didn’t have the best of starts back in 6th and it was Giles Richards on the 350f Tony Maunders Racing KTM who had the holeshot in this one from wildcard Jack Gribble on the 450f Kawasaki who was soon to hit the front and was to ease away. Wade was to claw his way up in to 2nd by the end of lap 3 and did close on Gribble in the closing stages but in the end, Gribble took the win from Wade with Yorke taking 3rd.

In the Junior B class there was three different winners with Will Matthews winning the opening race with James Chard taking the honours in race 2 and Kai Ford winning the last race.

Words & Pictures by Dave Rich

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.